Friday, June 25News That Matters


FC Barcelona is likely one of the largest and most-respected carrying golf equipment on this planet and its basketball segment has been necessary to its legacy. The membership started its haul of trophies within the Nineteen Forties, a decade that noticed it carry the Copa del Rey 5 occasions. Barcelona’s subsequent generation of greatness got here within the Nineteen Eighties, led via Nacho Solozabal, Chicho Sibilio and Juan Antonio “Epi” San Epifanio. Barcelona reached the 1984 EuroLeague ultimate sooner than falling to Rome after which gained the Saporta Cup in each 1985 and 1986 plus the Korac Cup the next season. Regardless of its successes, Barcelona nonetheless longed for EuroLeague glory. The membership added Audie Norris and made it to a few immediately EuroLeague Ultimate Fours from 1989 to 1991, however misplaced to eventual champion Cut up every time – together with two times within the championship recreation. Barcelona returned 3 extra occasions to the Ultimate 4 within the Nineteen Nineties by myself and got here up quick every time. In 1999, Barcelona gained a 2d Korac Cup, however 2000 introduced with it extra Ultimate 4 sadness. That every one modified in 2003 when, with town internet hosting the Ultimate 4 at Palau Sant Jordi, the good Dejan Bodiroga teamed with Gregor Fucka, Sarunas Jasikevicius and Juan Carlos Navarro underneath Trainer Svetislav Pesic to hold Barca previous Benetton Treviso for its first EuroLeague crown. Barcelona returned to the Ultimate 4 once more in 2006 and gained the Copa del Rey in 2007. Within the 2008-09 season, with Xavi Pascual as head trainer, Barcelona gained but every other Spanish League identify and returned to the Ultimate 4, however misplaced to CSKA Moscow. The 2009-10 season was once a memorable one for Barcelona because the likes of Navarro, Ricky Rubio, Erazem Lorbek and Pete Mickeal helped put the crew a few of the largest EuroLeague champions ever with an implausible 20-2 file. Panathinaikos Athens stopped Barcelona within the 2011 playoffs and avoided the membership from returning to a Palau Sant Jordi Ultimate 4. Olympiacos Piraeus knocked Barca out within the 2012 Ultimate 4 in Istanbul and Actual Madrid stood within the membership’s approach within the 2013 and 2014 EuroLeague semifinals. Even so, Barcelona gained the Spanish League and Cup double in 2011, every other league trophy in 2012, Cup in 2013 and Spanish championship in 2014. Barcelona was once one win clear of making it to the 2016 Ultimate 4 after main 1-2 in its best-of-five playoffs collection towards Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar, however didn’t get the price tag to Berlin. Nonetheless, Barcelona has been to the Ultimate 4 14 occasions since 1988. After including Copa Del Rey titles in every of the final two seasons, Barcelona is having a look to problem for each and every identify to be had in 2020.

Trophy Case

Euroleague: 2003, 2010
Korac Cup: 1987, 1999
Saporta Cup: 1985, 1986
Spanish Nationwide League: 1958-59, 1980-81, 1982-83, 1986-87, 1987-88, 1988-89, 1989-90, 1994-95, 1995-96, 1996-97, 1998-99, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2003-04, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2013-14
Spanish Nationwide Cup “Copa del Rey”: 1943, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1949, 1959, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1994, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2018, 2019, 2021
Spanish Supercup “Supercopa”: 1987-88, 2004-05, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2015-16


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *